MENU

Kellogg

Middle school

Current Assignments
Monday 4/9/18 Relative Dating Notes and Worksheet.

Tuesday 4/10/18  8th grade MCA Review Correct Worksheet

Wednesday 4/11/18 MCA Science

Thursday 4/12/18 Staff Development Day

Friday 4/13/18 MCA Science

_____________________________________________________________________________

Monday 4/16/18  Weather Data Collection:  In your notebook, write down the current date, sky conditions, temp, dew point, relative humidity, wind speed and direction.  Continue doing this for the next 5 weeks at the beginning of class.
Absolute Dating Notes  Walking With Dinosaurs

Tuesday 4/17/18  Relative Dating quiz,  Rochester's Geologic History assignment. 

Wednesday 4/18/18  Geologic time research:  Research and create a mini-poster about the time section you select.  Include the following on your poster:  Big earth / life events that occurred then, the Eon, Era and Period (if possible) of your time, a picture about your major event or events. 

Thursday 4/19/18  Research / work day

Friday 4/20/18  Complete and hand in posters. 

  Test Review  Review Jeopardy  Rocks and Geotime Quizlet
Weathering Notes
River Erosion notes  River Ages
Glaciers notes
Igneous Rocks
Sedimentary Rocks
Metamorphic Rocks
Groundwater Notes
Geologic Time / Fossil Notes

Rocks and Geologic Time Review

Weathering and Erosion

  • Difference between weathering and erosion

  • Mechanical vs. Chemical weathering

River structures and ages

  • V-shaped valley

  • Meanders, flood plain, Oxbow lake

Glaciers

  • Alpine vs. Continental

  • U-shaped valley

  • Erode and deposit

Sedimentary Rocks-usually need water

  • Clastic: Pebble-sand-silt-clay

  • Chemical-precipitation or evaporation

  • Organic-plant or animal remains

Metamorphic Rocks

  • Temperature and/or pressure

  • Contact or Regional metamorphism

  • Foliated or non-foliated

Groundwater

  • Porosity vs. permeability

  • Saturation, aquifer, water table

Geologic time

  • Relative vs. absolute age

  • Index fossil

  • Superposition and cross-cutting relationships

___________________________________________________________________________

Monday 4/23/18  Test:  Rocks and Geologic Time

Tuesday 4/24/18  Sublimation Demonstration
Assignment:  Water Cycle Diagram.  Use this webpage to help you draw a picture of the water cycle.

Click here for water cycle website.

Include all arrows on your drawing. Label and define the following words on your drawing. precipitation, infiltration, groundwater storage, evaporation, sublimation, condensation, surface runoff, evapotranspiration and spring. Extra credit for coloring and detail.

Wednesday 4/25/18  Water cycle review. 

Use pgs 512-517 to complete this assignment.
Atmosphere Assignment: Earth's atmospheric gases: Nitrogen 78%, Oxygen 21%, 1% Argon, Carbon Dioxide and other gases.

1. Make a pie chart showing the % of gases in our atmosphere. Label each gas and it’s %.

2. Make a drawing of the four main layers of the atmosphere. Label the following for each layer: a) name b) height c) temperature information d) one fact about that layer

3. Define and give an example of each type of heat transfer.

Thursday 4/26/18  Water Cycle Quiz  Complete atmosphere assignment.

Friday 4/27/18  Angle of Insolation Lab
_____________________________________________________________

Monday 4/30/18 Complete Lab.  Read 539-542 Answer section review q's 1-5 on 542.

Tuesday 5/1/18

Wednesday 5/2/18

Thursday 5/3/18

Friday 5/4/18 

______________________________________________________________

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.

Rochester Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability.